Het Katten Kabinet
The collection of the Cat Cabinet offers a very wide look at the role of the cat in art and in culture through the centuries.
HET KATTEN KABINET
The Cat Cabinet(Het Katten Kabinet) was founded in commemoration of the ginger cat John Pierpont Morgan (1966-1983). This special cat was the stubborn, headstrong companion of the museum’s founder, Bob Meijer. The collection offers a wide look at the role of the cat in art and in culture through the centuries.
Cats have been a favorite subject of artists for many decades, and many big names in the art world have produced impressive works on them. Find out more about a few of these painters, including Sal Meijer, Leonor Fini, and Henriette Ronner-Knip.
Experience the Cat Cabinet unlike any other in this 360-degrees virtual tour that reveals the unique works in the collection. The museum is housed in the impressive, classically-furnished first floor which contains five rooms and is itself an attraction.
Standing in the “Golden Bend” of the Herengracht and facing the Cat Cabinet it’s almost impossible to imagine that the two houses numbered 497 and 499 were ever identical. These two buildings were built in 1667 for brothers Willem and Adriaen van Loon. By drawing a lot it was decided that Willem would get 497 and Adriaen 499. The house remained in the hands of the family until 1725. What then followed was an impressive list of residents. Jan Calkoen lived there when he was mayor of Amsterdam, and the president of America John Adams stayed there when he came to visit Engelbert van Berckel. Until 1837 the building held onto its original 17th-century look. Then, as with many other canal houses, the stairway was removed and the entrance moved to the ground floor.